About Us

Last update: February 18th, 2022

NuAge Database and Biobank

NuAge is a unique cohort of elderly subjects, distinctive by the quality, diversity and complementarity of the data and biological samples made available to the scientific community to conduct multiple secondary research projects. This cohort took form between November 2003 and June 2008 as part of the Quebec Longitudinal Study on Nutrition and Successful Aging (NuAge Study), funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR; $3.8M) and supported for more than 10 years by the Réseau québécois de recherche sur le vieillissement (RQRV) [Quebec Network for Research on Aging]. In brief, 1,793 healthy men and women between 67 and 84 years of age, living in the regions of Montreal, Laval and Sherbrooke (Province of Quebec, Canada), were recruited in the NuAge cohort. More than 1,000 variables were collected annually for 4 years, totaling 3 years of follow-up. These variables include data about lifestyle habits, socioeconomic status, social participation, overall health, body composition, physical capabilities, functional autonomy, cognitive and mental health, medication, and use of supplements and natural products. The annual collection of fasting blood (serum, plasma, peripheral blood mononuclear cells), urine and saliva samples, currently stored in a computerized biobank, complement these data.

In 2018-2019, a major project was completed to define a new management framework and proceed with the migration of the data and biological samples of 1,753 of the 1,793 (98%) participants of the NuAge cohort into a research bank officially registered under the name " NuAge Database and Biobank ". This status ensures that the infrastructure complies with the ethical and legislative requirements effective in Quebec regarding research banks.

Mission

The mission of the NuAge Database and Biobank is to maintain, enrich and promote an infrastructure that allows sharing of high quality data and biological samples with the scientific community as part of research projects aiming to characterize the heterogeneity of aging trajectories and the multiple underlying factors, in order to improve the overall health and quality of life of the elderly.

Current Milestones

From 2003 to March 2021, the NuAge milestones include nearly :

  • 86 scientific articles cited more than 3,100 times (h index = 32; Google Scholar)
  • 320 presentations (oral, posters, invited) as part of scientific meetings
  • 30 media communications about the NuAge cohort
  • 113 graduate students, interns and fellows who used NuAge data or biological samples as part of their studies
  • $6.3M in grants (research, operation) for the NuAge Study and NuAge Database and Biobank
  • 23 secondary research projects accepted or in progress
  • 59 secondary research projects completed
  • 11 research partners and consortia, including 3 at the international level

À propos

Dernière mise à jour: 18 février 2022

Banques NuAge​

NuAge est une cohorte de personnes âgées unique au monde, de par la qualité, la diversité et la complémentarité des données et échantillons biologiques qu’elle met à la disposition de la communauté scientifique pour la réalisation de multiples projets de recherche secondaires. Cette cohorte de personnes âgées a pris forme entre novembre 2003 et juin 2008 dans le cadre de l’Étude longitudinale québécoise sur la nutrition comme déterminant d’un vieillissement réussi (Étude NuAge), financée par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC; 3,8M$) et soutenue depuis plus de 10 ans par le Réseau québécois de recherche sur le vieillissement (RQRV). En bref, 1793 hommes et femmes en santé âgés de 67 à 84 ans, vivant dans les régions de Montréal, Laval et Sherbrooke (province du Québec, Canada), ont été recrutés dans la cohorte NuAge. Plus de 1000 variables ont été colligées annuellement pendant 4 ans, totalisant ainsi 3 années de suivi. Ces variables incluent des données relatives aux habitudes de vie, au statut socioéconomique, à la participation sociale, à l’état de santé générale, à la composition corporelle, aux capacités physiques, à l’autonomie fonctionnelle, à la santé cognitive et mentale, à la médication, et à la consommation de suppléments et de produits naturels. À ces données s’est ajouté, annuellement, le prélèvement à jeun d’échantillons sanguins (sérum, plasma, cellules mononuclées du sang périphérique), d’urine et de salive, regroupés dans une biobanque informatisée.

En 2018-2019, un chantier d’envergure a été achevé afin de définir un nouveau cadre de gestion et d’opérer la migration des données et des échantillons biologiques de 1753 des 1793 (98%) participants de la cohorte NuAge dans une banque de recherche officiellement enregistrée sous le nom des « Banques NuAge ». Ce statut assure que l’infrastructure soit conforme aux exigences éthiques et législatives en vigueur au Québec en lien avec les banques de recherche.

Mission

La mission des Banques NuAge est de maintenir, enrichir et promouvoir une infrastructure qui permet le partage de données et d’échantillons biologiques de haute qualité avec la communauté scientifique dans le cadre de projets de recherche visant à caractériser l’hétérogénéité des trajectoires de vieillissement et les multiples facteurs qui la sous-tendent, dans le but d’améliorer la santé globale et la qualité de vie des aînés.

Retombées actuelles

De 2003 à mars 2021, les retombées de NuAge comptent près de :

  • 86 articles scientifiques cités plus de 3100 fois (indice h = 32; Google Scholar)
  • 320 présentations (orales, affiches, invitées) dans le cadre de congrès scientifiques
  • 30 communications médiatiques au sujet de la cohorte NuAge
  • 113 étudiants gradués et stagiaires ayant utilisé les données ou échantillons biologiques de NuAge dans le cadre de leurs études
  • 6,3M$ en subventions (recherche, fonctionnement) pour l’Étude et les Banques NuAge
  • 23 projets de recherche secondaires acceptés ou en cours de réalisation
  • 59 projets de recherche secondaires terminés
  • 11 partenaires et consortiums de recherche, dont 3 à l’échelle internationale